Not sure how to do this, Need some help.

I feel like this should be simple however I can't figure out how to make it work. This is my first attempt and I thought it would be a good starter project. But it has me stumped...

I have a button on pin 10, when that is pressed once, I would like to flash an LED on pin 11 indefinitely. Then I would like to have another button on pin 12 that when pressed once stops the LED on pin 11 from flashing. If the button on pin 10 is pressed again, I would like the LED to flash again ect...

This is what I have for code so far, My pulldowns for the buttons are being done with resistors in an effort to keep the code simple.

const int gpo = 10; //start button
const int led = 11; //led
const int ackbutt = 12; //acknowledge button

int gpoState = 0;
int flag=0;

void setup() {
pinMode(gpo, INPUT);
pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
pinMode(ackbutt, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
  gpoState = digitalRead(gpo);
  if (gpoState == HIGH) {
    if ( flag ==0){
  digitalWrite(led, HIGH);
  delay(700);
  digitalWrite(led, LOW);
  delay(700);
  digitalWrite(led, HIGH);
  delay(700);
  digitalWrite(led, LOW);
  delay(700);
  digitalWrite(led, HIGH);
  delay(700);
  digitalWrite(led, LOW);
  delay(2000);
  flag=1;
  }
  }
}

Read this - https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/BlinkWithoutDelay

Don't use delay() to manage timing because the Arduino can do nothing during a delay(). Use millis() as illustrated in several things at a time

This pseudo code should do what you want

void loop() {
  if onButton is pressed
     blinkOn = true;

if offButton is pressed
     blinkOn = false;

blinkLed();
 )

void blinkLed() {
    if blinkOn == true
      make LED blink

else
       turn LED off
 }

...R

stinkyone:
I have a button on pin 10, when that is pressed once, I would like to flash an LED on pin 11 indefinitely.