Not sure what boards I need? & other questions

Hello everyone.

Short intro, as this is my first post: First off, I'm new to Arduino and though I have done some digging here, I still lack the confidence to just do it, rather than bothering you here. I hope I'm not too much of a bother. As you can probably see from my writing, english is not my native language (sorry) and it kind of makes it a bit harder to understand all the techie talk here. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a complete newbie in electronics; I'm currently studying in the ICT-industry, so I do have decent knowledge of the topic here.

Instead of putting up all the questions about my project here, I'll just ask the one that keeps me from finding the answers myself:

What boards do I need in order to control the Arduino project over the internet, from a website or an application? Here is an example to clarify this matter:

• So, I have an an arduino board programmed to switch a LED on and off. Then I have this neat website I made, which has one button to click, which would turn the LED on and off. The arduino would be a stand-alone "device", so that it would have it's power source only, and so that it would be connected to the internet. Nothing else needs to be done to turn the LED on or off, than to visit the website and click the button.

I hope this example clarified this question, rather than clouding it up even more.

I'm guessing I do need the Arduino Ethernet Shield at least, but what about the other board(s)? Arduino Pro, Arduino Uno? Which one is best, or should I say the most cost-effective, since quality usually comes with a price.

For those who are kind enough to answer my question, I thank you in advance. I'd also like to hear tips, warnings, or anything that could help me during my project.

Sincerely, iDroid.