Nothing showing up on I2C LCD

Hi folks, I’m pretty new to Arduino and I’m trying to figure out how to get this display to work. I have the latest LiquidCrystal_I2C library installed and I’m trying to run the included Hello World program, but no characters are showing up on my display (this guy). I’m just getting two rows of white blocks and two blank rows. The backlight is on and I’ve tried adjusting the contrast.

Code is as follows:

#include <Wire.h> 
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>

LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x20,16,2);  // set the LCD address to 0x20 for a 16 chars and 2 line display

void setup()
{
  lcd.init();                      // initialize the lcd 

// Print a message to the LCD.
  lcd.backlight();
  lcd.print("Hello, world!");
}

void loop()
{
}

No errors upon compiling or uploading. I’m pretty sure I’ve got the display wired up correctly, with 10k pull up resistors for both SDA and SCL to 5V. SDA is going to Analog 4, SCL is going to Analog 5. This is on an Arduino Uno SMD, OSX 10.6.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Well, the code sample you posted initializes a 16x2 LCD on an address of 0x20. You're trying to initialize a 20x4 LCD on an address of 0x27. This might call for a change to the sketch, wouldn't you think?

It's also possible that you have the wrong LiquidCrystal_I2C library installed--there are at least two different libraries with that name. I have an LCD that uses one, and the library I downloaded here under that name didn't work. Make sure you're using the right one.

I made that change and now the display is just much dimmer, and the backlight has turned off. I can still see though that lines 1 and 3 have all the blocks turned on and lines 2 and 4 are completely off.

I have the library from here: http://hmario.home.xs4all.nl/arduino/LiquidCrystal_I2C/