NPN transistors and their math

Hi there,

I’m new to transistors and while doing an excercise on the Freenove UNO (similar to the Arduino UNO), I took some readings with my multimeter, in order to get a better understanding of what’s going on. I would like to know if my logic is correct.

The circuit diagram is attached, I’m using the active buzzer in the kit and the S8050 NPN transistor.

So knowning that transistors will amplify your current, and seeing on the internet that the transistor that I have probably has a gain of about 100 and a Vf of 0.7V, I took the current reading between the 1kohm resistor and the base of the transistor (b-e) and got about 4 mA (which makes sense because (5v - 0.7V) / 100kohm = 4.3 mA. I then figured that if the gain is 100, then on the other side (c-e) it should be 430 mA. Although, between the buzzer and the collector pin of the transistor, I’m reading 27 mA (a factor of about 16x).

I then saw on the web that the gain will be related to the current on both sides of the transistor, AND also the resistance on both sides. I saw on the web a buzzer similar to mine rated at 5V and has a max current of 32mA. Would this be because there is a fuse in it acting like a resistor (5V / 0.032A = 156 ohm), and I need to account for that? If I do that, and say that ratio (1000 ohm / 156 ohm) which is a factor of 6.4x, multipied by the factor of 16x above, gives a gain of 102, which is damn close to what I saw on the web.

… Sorry if explained this poorly, but I just want to know if my reasoning is correct and my understanding of the transistor and the current values I got are correct.

Cheers!
Ron

Would this be because there is a fuse in it acting like a resistor (5V / 0.032A = 156 ohm),

I don’t see a fuse but the buzzer has a resistance. They don’t usually give a resistance spec, but they give a current spec so you could calculate it.