NPS-42N switching PSU noise issue

Hi!

I’m building a power supply for an old 8-bit computer, the VIC-20 and I’m using a NPS-42N switching power supply module. After successfully powering up the computer with the PSU, I saw some pixels slightly wobbling on the screen (which do not happen with the original linear vic-20 psu). So I borrowed an oscilloscope from a friend and investigated the issue. Now I’m seeing thse pretty nasty noise pulses on the output which I can’t understand.

Please see the attached photo. Assuming I’m using the oscilloscope correctly (this is my first time using a scope!), I’m seeing these regular Vpp=1V pulses. And these are with some extra 10uF - 100uF filtering caps on the output side. Without caps the pulses are even bigger, Vpp=3V! I’ve tried adding different valued caps, ranging from 100nF to 1000UF, even several of them, and varying the load of the PSU with dummy loads, but no matter what I can’t make the pulses go under 1V.

Does this seem normal behavior for a swithing psu to you? According to the datasheet the ripple should be nowhere that big… I’m now suspecting the module could be faulty (it’s a fresh unit bought from Farnell).

I don’t really have any other ideas at this point other than replacing the power supply module.

NPS-42N datasheet: https://www.artesyn.com/power/assets/nps40-m_ds_05-09-2014_0c782fd991.pdf

And here’s a photo of the PSU.

It's the Transformer ok?
I mean did you have a constant Voltage output on the secondary side?
If you have to high variations on the secondary side the psu cant handle this.

It's just a consideration i don't know it is true.

Br
Fabian

@Gehtschon: actually the transformer is not connected to the NPS-42N. The transformer is used to generate 9 VAC that the VIC20 also requires in addition to 5V DC. The NPS-42N is powered by mains.

Hi,
Put the oscilloscope on the DC volts out of the SMPS and see what you have there.