NRF24L01, TMRh20, with ack, losing first message every time

Hi

I’m new to NRF24 communication. I’ve managed to get it working pretty ok, with the help of the TMRh20 library examples and reading a lot in the forum.

I still can’t get it to work as I would like.
While, with the ack, all the messages are sent perfect, the sender is always receiving one older message.
I mean - If the sender send ‘1’ and the receiver get the ‘1’ and send it back, the sender will get the ‘1’ back only after he send ‘2’.

Code of sender:

#include <SPI.h>
#include "RF24.h"

RF24 radio(7,8);

byte addresses[][6] = {"1Node","2Node"}; 
int counter = 1; 

void setup(){

Serial.begin(115200);

radio.begin();

radio.enableAckPayload();                     // Allow optional ack payloads
  radio.enableDynamicPayloads();                // Ack payloads are dynamic payloads

radio.openWritingPipe(addresses[0]);
   radio.openReadingPipe(1,addresses[1]);

radio.startListening();                       // Start listening  

}

void loop(void) {

/****************** Ping Out Role ***************************/

char a1[] = "hello ";
    char a2[18];

radio.stopListening();  

a1[6] = (counter+'0');
    a1[7] = '\0';

if ( radio.write(&a1, 8 )){                         // Send the counter variable to the other radio 
      Serial.print("Sent: ");
      Serial.print(a1);
      if(!radio.available()){                             // If nothing in the buffer, we got an ack but it is blank
          Serial.println("no radio is available");
        }
        else{      
            while(radio.available() ){                      // If an ack with payload was received
                radio.read( &a2, 18 );                  // Read it, and display the response time
                Serial.print("    Got: ");
                Serial.println(a2);
                }
        }
    if (counter <9 ) counter++;
    else (counter  = 0);
    }

else    {        
      Serial.println(F("Sending failed."));