Nubie needs help picking his first board to buy

My long-term goal is to read a barometric pressure sensor, send it to a Web page and be able to read it from my computer. I have many less ambitious things in mind too. It looks like the Ethernet application "Barometric Pressure Web-server." Will do what I want. I am just starting to learn microprocessor programming. I am willing to work my way up the learning curve, blinking lights and all. Can I get advise on which board to buy? Would maybe the Arduino 101, or the Arduino Mo Pro do?

I vote for Arduino Uno. Cheap, easy to handle and most common. When you learn more you will be able to choose board that fits your project better (if needed).

The two boards metioned are badly supported, and are only for advanced programmers and hardware nerds.

You can build a WiFi enabled weather station with e.g. a $5 WeMos D1 mini, or any other ESP8266 board.

But you should indeed start with an Uno, or an Uno starter kit (includes breadboard, LEDs, servos, etc.) Leo..

Since you're interested in Ethernet the Uno with an Ethernet shield will be a good choice. Make sure to buy an Ethernet shield with W5100 or W5500 Ethernet controller chip on it. Don't get the one with the ENC28j60. It's a little cheaper but will be more difficult to work with and the code for it uses more memory.

The only other board I would maybe consider for this is the Mega 2560 instead of Uno. The reason is that network code can easily grow to the point where the memory of the Uno is a limitation once you start adding extra features. However, the Uno is a little cheaper so you'll feel more comfortable experimenting without so much fear of letting the magic smoke out of an expensive Arduino board. The Uno will be more than sufficient for the project you want to do. You can always upgrade to a Mega later and that Uno will still be a useful thing to have on hand.

As a n00b myself I heartily recommend both Uno and Leo.