Numeric keypad that doesn't use most of my pins

I'm a novice, and want to make a little thing that requires a user to enter numeric data, and things will display on the 2x16 LCD screen. I've managed to get text displaying on the screen, but now want to do the user entry.

However, the cheap numeric keypads seem to have 8 wires, which end up using a lot of my pins. So I'm out of space. Is there any numeric keyboards that use maybe 2 data plus +/Gnd?

Remember, I'm a novice. It looks like there might be clever coding ways this can be achieved, but - a simple solution would be better for now.

I can't help, but have been wondering the same thing. So I'm joining the thread to see the answers.

There "must" be some kind of I2C or SPI bus thingy, surely?

You can use an IR remote as a data entry device.
Example:

Have a look at Adafruit Trellis Monochrome Driver PCB for 4x4 Keypad & 3mm LEDs

I saw something called a I2C GPIO PCF8574/PCF8574A Module
I read a post, but got a bit sick half way through as it looked a bit like rocket science.

I got frightened when I saw it start about "Visuino" and ... I started hoping there was a way NOT to do it this way. But for the experts, that does seem to be an option.

Cralis:
https://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-Nano-I2C-Matrix-Keypad-With-PCF8574PCF8574/

for the experts

Not sure those two words go well together :wink:

Cralis:
I saw something called a I2C GPIO PCF8574/PCF8574A Module

Easy enough to use, but - in case you didn’t get the message above, “instructables” does not have a great deal of credibility here.

The thing is, if you use a display with an I2C “backpack” (which incidentally uses a PCF8574), you access it using only two pins (A4 and A5). If you use another PCF8574 to read the keyboard, you can (and in fact must) use the same two pins, so the whole of the project you have described so far uses only two pins on the Arduino.