O Gauge Train control

Hi Guys

I am new to this but have been building O gauge train layouts for 40 plus years What I am looking to do is use an Arduino board to control a set of relays that will switch a pair of trains between sidings using TCRT5000L ir sensor for detection and control the relays to turn power to each siding on and off and to control the track switches so that when it is running one train will run a lap come back to it's siding and key the other one to run a lap and back again I have just started searching if any you know it this has been done before I have done it with just relays and mechanical switches but uses lots of power and needs lots of maintenance because of the direct contact with the trains

Can you expand on how you plan to use the TCRT5000L ir sensor for detection?

I want to mount the sensor under the track so that when the train passes over it the train will be seen basicly I would like the sensor to see the train and fire the relays to stop one start the other and switch the tracks

Sounds as though it should work - you might need to put some reflective material on the bottom of your train .

If you know how to start and stop the trains and control the track switches, it sounds doable.

I would start by making a list of each signal (relay) needed, that will begin identifying which pins to use and how many you will need.

You will also likely need to debounce the ir sensor to prevent false triggering and make sure the end of the train has been detected.

P.S. Debounce = detect pin state change, wait x milliseconds, confirm pin state has changed, then signal new value to the program.

You might also consider using a Light Dependent Resistor (LDR) for train detection. I reckon they would be easier to use than an IR detector. I have some small LDRs that are almost invisible to the eye when placed between OO Gauge sleepers.

...R