Obstacle avoidance robot - advice

Hi all, I’m new to Arduino and the forums.

My first project is a basic obstacle avoidance robot. I use an Uno with a motor shield, driving 2 DC motors that power the wheels. I also use a US sensor mounted on a servo to get distances (left, right and centre).

My first iteration, the robot did things in sequence, i.e. move forward, if an obstacle is too close, then scan left and right, turn, then go again. It worked all fine.

I wanted to make it scan and move at the same time. so I modified my code based on this one. It all works nicely, the robot scans at the same time that it moves, so it knows where to turn as soon as it has to. Sweet!

Here is the code I’m currently using.

#include <Servo.h>

#define runEvery(t) for (static typeof(t) _lasttime;(typeof(t))((typeof(t))millis() - _lasttime) > (t);_lasttime += (t))

Servo RadarServo;

// from 9V to 6V
const float MotorReduction = 0.66;

const int
PWM_L = 3, // motor 1 pins
DIR_L = 12,
BRA_L = 9,
CUR_L = A0,

PWM_R = 11, // motor 2 pins
DIR_R = 13,
BRA_R = 8,
CUR_R = A1,

USPin = A2, // ultrasonic sensor pin

TurnInterval = 500; // time spent turning / moving backwards

int MotorSpeed;
int rawDist;
int USpos = 82; // servo position to centre the US sensor
int USdir = 0; // 0 = going left, 1 = going right

int Ldist = 200; //distance left of robot
int Cdist = 200; //distance centre of robot
int Rdist = 200; //distance right of robot

int RobotDir = 0; // forward = 0 back = 1 left = 2 right = 3
int oldRobotDir = 0;

long oldTimer = 0;

int SweepSpeed = 40; //sweep speed ms

void setup(){

RadarServo.attach(4);
  RadarServo.write(USpos);

pinMode(USPin,INPUT);

pinMode(PWM_L,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(DIR_L,OUTPUT);  
  pinMode(BRA_L,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(CUR_L,INPUT);

pinMode(PWM_R,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(DIR_R,OUTPUT);  
  pinMode(BRA_R,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(CUR_R,INPUT);

digitalWrite(BRA_L,LOW);
  digitalWrite(DIR_L,LOW);
  analogWrite(PWM_L,0);

digitalWrite(BRA_R,LOW);