Obstacle Avoidance Robot

Been working on an obstacle avoidance robot for a little while now. Finally had some time to get serious with it and work out some of the kinks (although I'm still not sure if they are actually solved). current issue is that it can for the most part avoid obstacles and prevent itself from getting stuck, however there are certain situations where it will get stuck on an object that is below the ultrasonic sensor that I'm using.

That's what I need help with, when all the other measures fail and my robot gets itself stuck on something that it can't see, I would like to tell it to back up and turn around. I already have the code for this and it works but I don't know how to get it to know when it is stuck? I was thinking maybe I would be able to tell it to backup and do all that when its wheels stop moving but I'm not sure if the arduino is aware when this happens or not? Should I implement another sensor?

Would love some ideas, I'm still relatively new to all this. I've only done little projects with LEDs and stuff before this lol.

Thanks,

Seth

Yes, it gets physically stuck on something like a rug or a box that is below the sensor so it can't see it and then it runs into it.
Thanks for the ideas, I'll be sure to keep messing around with it.

Hi,

well....if the ultrasonic sensor keep measuring the distance in front of the robot when it is stuck and for say, 5 seconds, the distance does not change, then you can assume with a high probability that the robot is stuck!!!

A small sub-routine should solve your problem.

duino_nano:
Hi,

well....if the ultrasonic sensor keep measuring the distance in front of the robot when it is stuck and for say, 5 seconds, the distance does not change, then you can assume with a high probability that the robot is stuck!!!

A small sub-routine should solve your problem.

Awesome idea!