Odd if condition behavior

Hi, I am still new to the Arduino programming language, I have encounter some odd behavior in the following code that I can't understand why it functions in this way, and was hoping someone would be able to clear things out for me.

void setup()
 {
  Serial.begin(9600); // setting the serial port speed to 9600
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT); // declaring pin 13 as an output
 }

char letter;

void loop()
 {
   if(Serial.available()>0)
   {
     letter = Serial.read();
   }
     if(letter == 'a')
     {
       digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
     }
   else if (letter == 'b')
   {
     digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
     delay(500);
     digitalWrite(13, LOW);
     delay(500);
   }
   else 
   {
     digitalWrite(13, LOW);
   }

}

so in the previous code when you press 'a', the LED turn ON and if you press any other letter except b
the LED keeps being ON. While if you press 'b' , the LED will blink and if you press any letter except 'a' the LED will turn OFF.

I don't understand why the LED keeps its condition in case of 'a' when pressing any other letter but doesn't keep its condition in 'b' when pressing any other key.

My advice is to add some Serial.println() to your code and then watch the output in Serial Monitor so you can understand what is happening.

if(Serial.available()>0)
   {
     letter = Serial.read();
   }

You close the if() too soon

Menna_Ali:
so in the previous code when you press 'a', the LED turn ON and if you press any other letter except b
the LED keeps being ON. While if you press 'b' , the LED will blink and if you press any letter except 'a' the LED will turn OFF.

Are you sure? That's not how it works for me. Using SerialMonitor with line ending set to "No line ending" I get this behavior:
send 'a': light turns on
send 'b': light starts blinking and continues to blink
send any other character: light turns off
That is what the sketch is telling it to do and that is what it does on my Arduino UNO.