Odd programming behavior on a DUE derived board

I've been working about 2 weeks off and on bringing up a new SAM3X8E board based loosely on the DUE. It is a smaller 50x50mm form factor and incorporates a KSZ8081RNA PHY and Ethernet connection among other things.

By way of history I have about 40 years of electronics design experience with processors, programmable logic, RF and high voltage pulsed power. This isn't my first rodeo with an ARM processor and using the SAM-BA boot monitor.

Other than some normal Rev 0 problems like some missing pull-ups and pull-downs things appeared to be going smoothly. We dropped the Atmel USB interface and its ERASE and RESET jiggery pokery in favor of a straight FTDI FT230 interface on the debug port and also kept the native USB port.

Both the Arduino IDE and its Bossa interface and the SAM-BA software were able to find the processor and interact with it on both the native and debug serial port. With SAM-BA I could examine, erase and program the flash memory and the flash utility loaded and ran in the RAM space so the processor was operating.

I did a hardware erase and tried loading the Arduino blink program using the native USB port, which I had previously tested on a true DUE board and nothing. The IDE said it programmed, verified, set the GPNVM bit to boot from flash and reset the cpu but no blinky LED. Hardware reset applied - no blinky. OK..... fire up SAM-BA and look around.

First of all, SAM-BA shouldn't have been able to open the port if it had really been set to boot from flash, so it had to still be booting from the SAM-BA ROM. Bossa lied.

The blink program is in flash. It verifies against the compiled .bin file from the Arduino IDE. I try manually setting the boot from flash0 and boot from flash GPNVM bits. Hardware reset - nothing. I close SAM-BA, unplug the USB port and plug it back in and launch SAM-BA again - it doesn't find the port so at least it hasn't booted from the ROM, but still no activity.