Ohms law :: designing my own circuit?

Hey guys and gals,

I am new to Arduino. I know that when designing my circuits I need to keep Ohms law in mind to make sure that I am not trying to get the Arduino to sink too much electricity and to make sure that I am not sending to much electricity though my components. My question is; lets say I have two components running from two separate pins (lets say 13 & 12) do I do my calculations with each pin using the full 5V or would it be 5V/x where x == number of pins in use.

Or am I completly off about this generally works? I can't find any tutorials on this topic.

Thanks!

You do the calculations for each pin separately. But the entire collection of hardware that you connect to 5V has to stay within the maximum 5V current limit of the Arduino. There is also a maximum current for the sum total of all the pin current, 200mA if I recall correctly... no individual pin should draw more than 20mA.

Thank you for the quick reply. So I do each one independently and all components must stay within the 5v, got it.

One other related question do I need to add all of the "left over" electricity together from all the pins to sink it or is it still as long as each individual pin isn't sending back more then the board can sink I am ok?

zeroradius:
Thank you for the quick reply. So I do each one independently and all components must stay within the 5v, got it.

One other related question do I need to add all of the "left over" electricity together from all the pins to sink it or is it still as long as each individual pin isn't sending back more then the board can sink I am ok?

Sorry, I don't understand your question. I've never heard of left over electricity before. Does it sell for half price?

zeroradius:
I know that when designing my circuits I need to keep Ohms law in mind

You need to keep Ohm's law AND Kirchhoff's laws in mind. This completely answers your question. If it doesn't, ask questions about Kirchhoff's laws.

Stefflus: