OK to power my Nano project with a 7.4v lipo?

I want to control by IR 2 mid size servos and also power some led strips from my Arduino Nano using only one power source. I have read conflicting opinions on using a lipo for the Arduino.

The data sheet says the Nano can take 7-12 volts, so in theory I can use a 2 or 3 cell lipo (7.4v/11.1v), probably around a 1000-2000mAh. What problems could I face?

I am a total noob at this but this it what I have built so far. I've only tried it with a 9v battery and it does work with one servo.

:sunglasses:

Don't power your servo THROUGH the nano. Using your diagram, connect the power to the breadboard and then power the nano and the servo from the breadboard.

If the LiPo is within the recommended voltage range for the Nano then the type of battery does not matter. Be careful to ensure a LiPo is not discharged too deeply as that damages them. Also use a proper LiPo charger as they can go on fire if mistreated.

...R

Bear in mind that a fully charged 3 cell (3S) lipo is 12.6V which is pushing your luck. But if you stick to 2 cell (2S) the Nano will be fine.

The only catch will then be that most servos are only specified up to about 6V. Even the full voltage of a 2S lipo is a bit too much for them. So what servos are you using ?

Steve

Thanks guys. If I power the Nano from the breadboard then the servos get too much power as they need 4.8v-6.0v. So I was thinking 5v from the Nano is perfect using a 2cell lipo. I will be adding another servo and some LEDs also. So if I with the 9v in the picture with a 7.4v lipo that will work yes? I'm just worried the scary lipo will damage the Arduino?

Robin2:
Don't power your servo THROUGH the nano. Using your diagram, connect the power to the breadboard and then power the nano and the servo from the breadboard.