Old burglar alarm PIR connect to Arduino?

I have recently moved house and there are PIR sensors in most of the downstairs rooms. These are connected to a broken burglar alarm control panel. I have disconnected the alarm itself, but left the 12V power supply to the PIRs.

I would like to connect the PIR outputs to an Arduino and then make a HTTP POST to a local webservce everytime the NC output from the PIR changes to NO.

I am VERY new to Arduino and haven’t even yet purchased my first board, but wonder if this could be a viable Arduino project to get me started?

Can anyone offer any pointers or recommend hardware? I’ve been looking at the POE powered boards.

pir_datasheet.pdf (1.09 MB)

If you are very new to Arduino, buy an Arduino Uno and a optocoupler. See if you can detect 12V with the optocoupler. Do you have a multimeter ?

Do you want a single central Arduino or an Arduino in every PIR module ? An Arduino with ethernet in every PIR module is not a good idea. It will be expensive, and you need ethernet cables.

The central Arduino could be an Arduino Uno + Ethernet Shield, and you can upgrade that later to Arduino Mega 2560 + Ethernet shield.
How many PIR modules do you want to detect ?

I hope you are a experienced software engineer, because an alarm may not be missed. You have to be aware of that when writing the code.

Assuming the normally-closed relay contacts are isolated from the rest of the PIR sensor, you can connect directly to your Arduino. There is no need to use an optocoupler. Connect one contact to ground and the other to an Arduino input. Use code to enable an internal pull-up resistance.

The basic alarm system is a simple matter of looping around checking that each input has not changed. You will also need to be able to arm and disarm the system.