Old Guy Wants to Make a NEMA 17 Stepper Motor Turn 100 RPMS

I am making a Rube Goldberg Fitbug shaker for a friend at work. Our employer came up with an incentive for our health care program that includes the use of a 3 axis pedometer, which upset some of my friends. I told him I would make him a fitbug shaker to make sure he hit his step goal everyday. It has wooden gears and parts that move back and forth to make it interesting but I am having trouble finding a motor that is reliable.
My next step was to buy the stepper motor, an Adafruit MotorShield v2.3, and I already had an Arduino Duemilanove with ATMEGA328 chip I’ve been dying to use for a few years. I thought getting the Arduino programmed would be fairly “easy” and I’d be glowing in my fellow employees admiration in no time! Well I was wrong and this 61 year old guy is having a hard time asking for help.
What I was hoping for at the beginning was that I would be able to find a sketch I could copy and paste to my Arduino, because though I love drawing and making the mechanical parts on my homemade CNC, but programming the Arduino is alittle beyond me right now.
I’m hoping some people can help us “fight the man” by helping me get my stepper motor turning.

The chances are very good that the Adafruit motor shield will not work with your motor. It can supply only 600 mA/winding without overheating and many motors require much more.

NEMA 17 just defines the size of the faceplate and is otherwise not informative. You need to know whether the motor is bipolar or unipolar (how many wires to the coils), the maximum current rating or the maximum voltage rating and the resistance of the windings. A link to the motor datasheet or product page would be helpful.

You will have much better luck with the more modern and capable motor drivers from Pololu (A4988 and DRV8825).

can you offer more data about the stepper ?

you should be able to make it spin with a simple sketch.