On/Off with momentary switch

Let me start out by saying I am not a programmer and even after several class still fail to write my own code from scratch. What I have been able to do is rework someone else’s code to work and have been able to create a number of successful projects over the last year or so. With that said I’ve encountered a problem that I have been unable to find someone’s code I can work off of and get this to work.

The project is fairly simple -
Using a momentary button on A1, the 1st press will turn on an LED on pin 9 and create a 1.5 second timed pulse to an LED on pin 10.

Pressing the button a second time need’s to turn off the LED on pin 9 and create another 1.5 second pulse on pin 10.

These are the only 2 functions of the entire sketch and they can run in a loop using logic to determine the state or it can work in a two step program where it won’t advance to the next stage until the button is triggered again then start the loop over.

I’ve already come to the conclusion the circuit needs to be debounce’d to prevent accidental trigging from the momentary button. As a matter of fact I can use the debounce coding line for line to accomplish turning the LED on and off. What I have not be able to accomplish is creating the timed output that responds to the momentary switch.

The code I’m attaching is part of another persons sketch thats been hacked up and almost does what I need it to but for the life of me I can not get a second output pulse to work with out it keeping the LED on. I’m at the point though I think going back to the debounce code example and trying to add a timed output might be simpler.

PLEASE HELP ME

const byte buttonPin = A1;
const byte relayPins[] = {9, 10, 11, 12};
const byte NUMBER_OF_RELAYS = sizeof(relayPins);
byte state = 0;
unsigned long startWait = 50;
unsigned long period;
unsigned long currentTime;
byte currentButtonState;
byte previousButtonState;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);