On using Arduino for a 2D TDOA applications with vibration sensors

Hi

I am looking into using Arduino, or another platform if more appropiate, to log data for a 2D TDOA application using the data from 3 vibration sensors. The need for 3 sensors instead of the typical two you see with mics is because, with vibration through solids, speed can not be considered constant like through air, so a third measure is necesary to solve the equation and find the direction of the vibration origin in 2D.

I have limited experience with microcontrollers and it will be my first time using Arduino. The only thing I want Arduino to do is to get the signal from the 3 sensors with a timestamp and pass it to a PC via USB for processing. The signal will have a max frequency no higher than 150Hz. I can not specify exactly the upper limit yet because I have not decided on the sensors and most likely I will have to test a few before settling for one (suggestions welcomed), but my signal should not have a frequency higher than 150Hz. For what I have been reading in the forums, if I sample at x10 that frequency (if the sensor allows it), I should have a nice signal, and Arduino is more than capable of sampling at 1.5KHz, so that part should not be a problem.

Since I will be using Python to analize the data in the computer, I have settled on using the Firmata protocol to pass data from the Arduino to the computer, since it has good libraries for both Arduino and Python. Again, I am open to suggestions.