One sketch, several hardware editions? Possible?

Hi folks,

Is there any way with Arduino to write a single sketch that can handle several different hardware platforms? I know the basics of coding, but I'm not a professional programmer, and while I've searched for answers to this I'm not sure if I'm even using the proper terminology.

The code I'm writing has to use #define statements to setup the hardware limitations, but I will be writing this for 2-3 different platforms, each of which has subtly different capabilities.

Is there any way to have a common core for the Sketch, and just vary the 2-3 constants which need to change for the various editions?

Thanks

Myx

Sure. For example, the "Blink" example runs on all hardware.
In fact, many of the examples are hardware independent at the "user sketch" level - that's one of the advantages of using the Arduino core and libraries.

For more important differences, there are a set of symbols that are pre-defined by the compile environment whenever you build a sketch. So you can do:

#if defined(ARDUINO_ARCH_AVR)
  #if defined(__ATMEGA328P__)
    // stuff for 328 Ardunios
  #elif defined(__ATMEGA1284P__)
    // stuff defined for Wildfire or Bobuino
  #endif
#elif defined(ARM_MATH_CM4)
  // fancy DSP instructions!
#else ...

It is a good idea to isolate this stuff as much as possible. I have some C code from the mids 80s, when the language and libraries were a lot less standardized, and it's so full of SYSV/BSD/SOLARIS/IBMPC conditionals that it is really difficult to read.

westfw gave a good answer while I was writing this, but since there is a little bit of different information, I'll post it anyway:

There are various macros that can be used to identify which microcontroller, board, or architecture is being compiled for. Arduino has standardized macros for board and architecture.