Only send out value upon change.

Hi guys,

I'm really new to this but have followed a guide thus far and am getting an output (as MIDI message to max).

My problem is that the messages are coming through too fast but simultaneously update very slowly. I need the value to change only when I press or release a button and for this to happen immediately when I do so. I think that it is probably to do with the two 250 delays in the code, however when I changed them the messages came through even faster.

I have 4 switch buttons that I am reading on analog inputs set to digitalread and my code is as follows:

const int buttonOne = 14; // assign button pin to variable
const int buttonTwo = 15; // assign button pin to variable

MIDI_CREATE_INSTANCE(HardwareSerial,Serial, midiOut); // create a MIDI object called midiOut

void setup() {
  pinMode(buttonOne,INPUT); // setup button as input
  pinMode(buttonTwo,INPUT); // setup button as input
  Serial.begin(9600); // setup MIDI output
}

void loop() {
  if(digitalRead(buttonOne) == HIGH) { // check button state
    delay(10); // software de-bounce
    if(digitalRead(buttonOne) == HIGH) { // check button state again
      midiOut.sendControlChange(56,127,1); // send a MIDI CC -- 56 = note, 127 = velocity, 1 = channel
      delay(250); }}
   else if (digitalRead(buttonOne) == LOW) {
      midiOut.sendControlChange(56,0,1); // MIDI note off
      delay(250);
  }

if(digitalRead(buttonTwo) == HIGH) { // check button state
    if(digitalRead(buttonTwo) == HIGH) { // check button state again
      midiOut.sendControlChange(42,127,1); // send a MIDI CC -- 42 = note, 127 = velocity, 1 = channel
      delay(250); }}
      midiOut.sendControlChange(42,0,1); // MIDI note off
      delay(250);    
  }

Hope you can help!

I suspect you want to look at the state change detection example. Send a message when the switch BECOMES pressed, not when the switch IS pressed (even if that requires holding the switch for 10 milliseconds).