"open and close" rotate 180 & stop, rotate to 0 & stop servo project almost done

I would like to hit a momentary switch (a door bell) to “open” turn a servo 180 deg. then hit it again to “close” and return to 0. Everything I can find is for pressure buttons and return the servo back to 0. Would the momentary switch use the analog signal values of 0 to 1023 as well? My plan is to run the serial monitor to see what values the doorbell button is putting out once I get further along in the code.

Here is the closest code to the plan, but I’m a TOTAL noob and thinking it needs some “if then” statements and a stop funtion. e.g. if open then close and stop, if closed then open and stop

Could someone help me please. I’d then like to start playing with the deg of rotation to open and close to learn more, then keep moving on from there. adding a step motor, I have built a blinds open and closing servo mechanism to open and close blinds including mounting brackets. The step motor could roll the blinds up and be my next project :slight_smile:

Thanks for helping me have fun in advance. This arduino nano is such a cool thing. I have been able to get the sweep example running the motor so far on an external batter pack, pretty cool!

//zoomkat servo button test 7-30-2011

#include <Servo.h>
int button1 = 4; //button pin, connect to ground to move servo
int press1 = 0;
Servo servo1;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(button1, INPUT);
  servo1.attach(7);
  digitalWrite(4, HIGH); //enable pullups to make pin high
}

void loop()
{
  press1 = digitalRead(button1);
  if (press1 == LOW)
  {
    servo1.write(160);
  }
  else {
    servo1.write(20);
  }
}

Please use code tags to enclose any code in your post. You can do this by highlighting code, then clicking the # icon above the editor's text window.

As for your project, the very first thing you should do is to look at Nick Gammon's tutorial on switches, at http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11955

You are right... this Arduino stuff IS fun.