Open website

Hi, I'm new to arduino and have an ethernet shield and an uno.

I was just wondering if someone could provide some sample code of connecting to a website?

I don't need to pass any data or anything, I simply need to poll it once.

Thanks,

Max

Are you trying to send a POST or GET request?

Hi, I'm new to arduino and have an ethernet shield and an uno.

That and a network cable are all you need to connect to the web.

I was just wondering if someone could provide some sample code of connecting to a website?

The Arduino IDE comes with examples. Why are they not sufficient?

The Arduino IDE comes with examples. Why are they not sufficient?
[/quote]

Because all the examples connect to a server IP whereas I only want to load a website, I have a php page with code that I want run, and all that needs doing is for any client to open the page. No GET or POST required.

Thanks

Because all the examples connect to a server IP

Not true. There are client examples that get data from a server, and there are server examples that make the Arduino a server.

whereas I only want to load a website

You want the Arduino to serve up the web page (not site)?

I have a php page with code that I want run

By what? The Arduino as web server will not be able to serve up php pages.

and all that needs doing is for any client to open the page. No GET or POST required.

The client needs to make a GET request!

I just need the arduino to poll the website. There is no data returned, I just need the php to run. I do not need the arduino to read it or anything, I just want the thing to run!

I just need the arduino to poll the website.

What web site? What is the Arduino supposed to GET from the web site?

There is no data returned

Not a very useful site, then.

I just need the php to run.

Well, OK. You still need to make a GET request to make that happen.

I do not need the arduino to read it or anything, I just want the thing to run!