Opening a txt file.

Hi!, I’m working on Arduino Mega (Atmega1280). This is my first time with Arduino and in the forum.

I want to put a .txt file into Arduino and make the program read it and depending of his information (only 0 and 1) turn on/off a led.

Is possible to put a .txt file in the arduino memory?

Now I’m working with proteus, and the arduino programmer. I would know why the “fopen” function does not work because I read that in C it is ok.
I’ve included this libraries:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

and nothing…

Wich function I have to use?
Wich libraries I would include

Thank you.

Hi Nacho,

A better way would be to put the pattern of 1's and 0's into an array within your program and then read it from there. Here's the list of functions you have access to natively on the arduino: http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/HomePage

Unfortunately, you can't just put a text file on the arduino and open it, it's not that kind of platform. It may be possible (with some difficulty), but I think as a beginner user you'll find it much easier to use an array.

Thanks for your answer.

The .txt is an image converted in 0 and 1. And it is very big, like 1000 chars of height and 150 of width.

I must find the way, it is so difficult to work with an array with so many chars.

Thank you again

If you have an SD-card shield you can use the SD library to read text files: http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/SD

Nop, i am not using any sd-card

No, as in, if you were to purchase an SD-card shield (for example: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9802) then you can do it, otherwise there isn't really any way to interface with a text file since the board doesn't have built in formatted storage space. The key part is that you're attaching formatted storage to the arduino. You can achieve the same result with a pcb-mount SD card socket, some hookup wire and a soldering iron too, which would be even cheaper.

Or as an alternative, stream it over serial to the device?