Opensource-Irrigation-Control-Valve

Hello everyone.

I'm an engineer and a farmer.
I'm working one a chip opensource solution for irrigation control valve.

My specifications :

• Use latching valve.
  • Long range remote control ( 500m with some tree)
  • 4 month automy
  • Under 50 euro per unit

My complete design will be :
A remote center, based around an arduino pro mini with 4g module and an RF Module
This base will receive my order from my phone (using a web server) and send it to slave control valve using RF Module.

I'm currently working on the PCB of the slave Valve.
But i need some help to check if the solution used is valid.
You will find all my work on git hub. (Search for Slave_Valve.pdf to get the schema)

https://github.com/Wrendral/Opensource-Irrigation-Control-Valve

To control a latching solenoid we need a circuit able to create a 100 ms 12v impulse through a 6 ohm solenoid.

On my schematic I create a step up module around a ADP1108.
I use a capacitor (C2) to store enough energy.
A Mosfet (controlled by an Arduino) and a 2 pole bistable relay are used to discharge this capacitor and switch the polarity if needed.
Do you see any problems on this PCB?
If the working principle is good I will calculate all the value of the components.

Thanks for your help.
Sorry for my rusty english.

Why are your slave devices using a low voltage battery that has to be manually recharged every 4 months?
Outdoor systems typically use a 12v battery charged by solar or wind for unlimited power. If you are going for really cheap then try connecting to the battery inside a solar powered garden light. You could run several in series to get whatever voltage you need.

Have you checked to see if the Nano works with 3.3v going into Vin? That is well below the specified input voltage.
Also the Nano has a high power consumption in sleep mode due to the serial interface chip etc.
If your Nano has a 16 MHz crystal then 3.3v is too low for reliable operation.