Optical encoder too output moter adafruit motor sheld help

Please can someone help me I'm still learning and don't fully understand coding yet I am able to read my optical encoder from a Epson printer and I want to use the optical readings to control a motor on my motor sheld basically motor would mimic encoder position . I can get either motor to work on test or encoder to work but for the life of me I can't get the motor to follow the encoder is there a basic library I can use to get me going

You need to post your code so we can see what you can see.

Sounds like you have most of the problem solved.

And please use the code button </>so your code looks like thisand is easy to copy to a text editor

…R

#include <Encoder.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_MotorShield.h>

Encoder myEnc(5, 6);
Adafruit_MotorShield AFMS = Adafruit_MotorShield();
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myMotor1 = AFMS.getStepper(200, 2);
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myMotor2 = AFMS.getStepper(200, 1);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("MY bad coding:");
  AFMS.begin();  // create with the default frequency 1.6KHz
  myMotor1->setSpeed(100);
  myMotor2->setSpeed(100);
}

long oldPosition  = -999;

void loop() {

{
}
  long newPosition = myEnc.read();
  if (newPosition != oldPosition) {
    oldPosition = newPosition;
    Serial.println(newPosition);

if(newPosition == oldPosition){
       myMotor1->setSpeed(0);
        oldPosition = 1;}

}

}

also another try lol

*/

#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_MotorShield.h>
#include <Encoder.h>

Encoder myEnc(2, 3);
// Create the motor shield object with the default I2C address
Adafruit_MotorShield AFMS = Adafruit_MotorShield(); 
// Or, create it with a different I2C address (say for stacking)
// Adafruit_MotorShield AFMS = Adafruit_MotorShield(0x61); 

// Connect a stepper motor with 200 steps per revolution (1.8 degree)
// to motor port #2 (M3 and M4)
Adafruit_StepperMotor *myMotor = AFMS.getStepper(200, 2);