Optimization Problem

Hello, I am a newbie when it comes to the Arduino platform. As being such, I have started to play around with some of the basics. One thing I cannot seem to get past is what seems like variables getting optimized out. For example see the code below. The program works just fine when the serial.println is on-commented but fails with them commented out. I am essentially trying to make a state machine using the inputs from the serial port as to where I should go and what to do. I thought about using a switch case but since only 1 byte can be read in from the serial port, I thought this may be a better choice. I am sure there is a way around this, or maybe I am just using bad coding practices. Any help would be great.

#define _BELL 13

int head = 0;
int data = 0;
void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(_BELL ,OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){

if (Serial.available() > 0){
head = Serial.read();
//Serial.println((char)head);
if(head == 'T'){
data = Serial.read();
//Serial.println((char)data);
if (data == 'H'){
digitalWrite(_BELL,HIGH);
}
if (data == 'L'){
digitalWrite(_BELL,LOW);
}
}
}
}

Try to insert a short delay, if that fixes it the option is to change (Serial.available() > 0) to (Serial.available() == 2)

Well this is very strange. Both solutions on their own have fixed the problem. Would anyone be able to explain why this fixed the problem? I really hate to use delays so I will experiment with checking to see if the exact number of bytes I need have arrived. I am really just trying to do a simple example of serial communications.

The code is too fast, so this not an optimization problem really (not optimizing of your code anyways).

When you see code like:
a = Serial.read();
b = Serial.read();

You should always be sure that two chars are available at the serial.