optimize code

Hi,
The following sketch is a clock based on 60 LPD6803 RGB led’s. The code has not been stable and that can have something to do with the interrupts. I changed the SQW from 0 (pin2) to 1 (pin3) and that seems to do the trick for now. I commented the sketch and would like you all (…) to have a look. I’m a newbie on programming Arduino and would like to know if I’m doing okay. Please look for inefficient coding and improve my work. I also included the circuit. Thank you!

LPD6803_Clock.pde (5.44 KB)

It helps to have stable hardware first. I notice no decoupling in that circuit. With that many LEDs you defiantly need some.

these shift-registers don't need decoupling

Rubbish, there isn't a active component on the planet that dosn't need decoupling, what makes you say that?

Well I am on my iPad at the moment so looking at code especially as a download isn't easy. I will take a look tomorrow.

What makes me say that is over 40 years in the business has taught me that instability is always down to noise due to lack of decoupling. And that is dealing with professional engineeres who know about decoupling.

Have you measured the noise on your supply with a good scope? If you never use decoupling then you have never produced reliable circuits. You might think they function but you have probbly not tested them sufficiently.

If a circuit changes the ammount of current it draws, it changes the voltage on the power rail due to the finite impedance of the power supply. It is that variation in voltage you need to minimise by using decoupling capacitors. Variations in the power rail voltage lead to intermittent operation.

You can argue about using decoupling caps, or you can use them. Guess which one isn't a waste of time .

As for code you have a else if that looks like this: " else if (h = 12) { h = 0; } // same here but do we need it?"

Certainly you meant h==12 and not h=12.

You never explained what "stable" meant.