Optimized use of 7-Segment display without separate controller

I'm fairly new to microcontrollers, especially programming, but have some experience in Java coding (took a couple classes. I like to think I have a slight grasp on what I'm doing) and I am currently attempting to build a small counter using a Teensy LC, and while working on the display portion, I am wondering if there is an easier way to write the display logic.

I have a 2-digit 10 pin 7-segment display connected to pins 0-9 with 0 and 1 being the ground on the display, and I am wondering a shorter way to write the display code:

void display1() {
    digitalWrite(pinbot, LOW);
    digitalWrite(pindec, LOW);
    digitalWrite(pinbl, LOW);
    digitalWrite(pinbr, LOW);
    digitalWrite(pintop, LOW);
    digitalWrite(pintr, LOW);
    digitalWrite(pinmid, LOW);
    digitalWrite(pintl, LOW);
    digitalWrite(gnd1, HIGH);
    digitalWrite(gnd2, LOW);
    delay(10);
    digitalWrite(pinbr, HIGH);
    digitalWrite(pintr, HIGH);
    digitalWrite(gnd1, LOW);
    digitalWrite(gnd2, HIGH);
    delay(10);
}

I'd imagine there's a way to write it 20 times instead of 100, but I can't think of a way to do that, since everything but the ground is shared. I'm aware a MAX7221 would be the best way to do this, but I would prefer a code method, preferably a shorter one that what I've found.

digitalWrite(pinbr, HIGH);
    digitalWrite(pintr, HIGH);
    digitalWrite(gnd1, LOW);
    digitalWrite(gnd2, HIGH);

What, exactly, does that code do? Put the code in a function with an appropriate name, and call the function, instead of writing the code again later where you need that functionality.

Have you looked at any of the 7-segment Arduino code? I suggest you do, it's all there :D

If you say that pin 0 and pin 1 are ‘ground’ then you have a 2 digit common cathode type display where 8 pins (anodes) represent the seven segments A-G and the decimal point. The remaining 2 are the cathodes, one for each of the digits.