optimizing avr-gcc

Hi,

I consider myself an experienced programmer, but not mainly in C. I have some C experience, mainly on Arduinos, but I’m not a super C guru. This is the first time I’m really trying to optimize C code to squeece out the last couple of microseconds.

I’m using an Arduino Mega to read 24 pins as frequently as possible. I have 24 S0 counters connected to those pins. I’ve put the 24 pins in INPUT_PULLUP mode. The S0 counters will short the PINs to GND every now and again, and I want to count those occurances. The pulse width can be as little as 50us, so the code needs to be reasonably fast.

While optimizing the code, a couple of questions came up:

1. Is there any way of telling avr-gcc to unroll a loop? I found that manually unrolling the for loop reduces my runtime by almost 50%, but I’m unable to tell the compiler to do it. attribute((optimize(“unroll-loops”))) seems to be ignored.

2. Replacing count[i * 8 + pos]++; with count[(i << 3) + pos]++; gives a speed improvement. At university, I was taught to NOT do that optimization by hand because the compiler would understand that multiplying an int by a constant power of 2 can be replaced with a bitshift, and hence it would do it for me. It seems that avr-gcc doesn’t do this, though?

For reference, this is the relevant snipped of my sketch. (there are some other parts that send the counters somewhere and set them back to 0 before they can overflow etc). If you see any improvements, I’m of course happy to hear them :slight_smile:

#define readRegisters PINA, PINC, PINL
#define noRegisters 3

uint16_t count[noRegisters * 8];
uint8_t lastStateRegs[noRegisters];
uint8_t pinNoTranslation[noRegisters * 8] = { 22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,    37,36,35,34,33,32,31,30,   49,48,47,46,45,44,43,42 };

void setup() {
	for (byte i = 0; i < noRegisters * 8; i++) {
		pinMode(pinNoTranslation[i], INPUT_PULLUP);
	}
}

void measure() {
	uint8_t regs[noRegisters] = { readRegisters };