Optocoupler Question

Hi.

Would it be possible to use an optocoupler to make an Arduino input tolerant to both 12v and 24v?

I don't know a great deal about the specs of an optocoupler and unfortunately for me, understanding data sheets is a bit like the black arts.

I realize that a current limiting resistor needs to be in series with the coupler. Can the same resistor handle either voltage?

From my (possibly wrong) calculations, a 12v supply with a 1.2K resister would give 10mA. Presumably, a 24v supply would give 20mA. Would that typically fall within a band that a coupler could accept or would it be too wide?

Sorry if this seems a little vague but, I'm primarily a mechanical engineer.

Thank you in advance.
Paul

yes. you have it correct.
just select an opto that works within those ranges.
you could do the same with a voltage divider on an analog pin

you can also use a cap and a resistor to create a pulse based on the R/C time constant. then measure the pulse rate on the digital pin.

Thank you very much for the answer.

Now I just need to try and track down a suitable optocoupler.

Thanks again.
Paul

Colaboy:
Now I just need to try and track down a suitable optocoupler.

So many out there, spoilt for choice, though these are common enough and come in single,dual or quad versions.
http://pdf.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheet/siemens/ILD74.pdf

Usually find you can lower the input current to a lot less than 10ma; 2 to 3ma works for me.

That's fantastic, thank you.
I can get those no problem.

I've studied the data sheets you linked to in an attempt to better understand them. That way hopefully, I don't have to bother you good people in future.
I can see a value for maximum current but, I can't spot where it mentions a minimum current. Am I not interpretating correctly or does it not mention a figure. Electronics data sheets have always been somewhat of a mystery to me.

Thanks
Paul

There is no minimum current.