ordinary light switches and arduino, can the coexist?

Hi there i am studying the possibility of use domotics at home. I ve got a relay module, and arduino mega and a ethernet shield, and i have successfully tested how to turn on and off a light bulb, but my question is can i use my prexisting ligt switches because i ve seen that on every tutorial people use push buttons not light switches.

Thanks

Juan

You mean to essentially use them as toggle switches for inputs to the arduino for example?
Yes you can.

Exactly because if i rewire my entire house and can only turn lights using my mobile phone without being able to use fisical buttons might be trouble. For example if a guest ask for using my toilet, and the light can only be turn on and off using my phone would be unpractical lol

And how can i do it do you know any tuttorial for that?

Thanks

Juan

basically: The light switch is longer connected to the power mains. The relay common-normally open contacts will go in series to open/close the 'hot' line to the lights.
The coil + will connect to +5.
The coil - may be connected to Gnd by two parallel circuits - one will be the light switch, the other will be an arduino output. The coil - will also be an input back to the arduino so it can monitor the state of the pin and determine when it has been turned on by the light switch.
Don't forget a diode across the coil - anode on coil-, cathode to coil+.

Here are some relay examples that have 4.5V coils. They all have need higher current amounts to control them, so you'll probably want a buffer/transistor to sink current to pull the coil- low to turn them on.

This article describes a solution to what you're trying to do:

And this is what I was describing.
The light bulb could be the receptacle being controlled also.
The arduino driven relays allows power to flow.
If the light switch turns on the relay, the arduino can sense that.

Thanks Cross and Chagrin i will chek the info out! :wink: