Outboard boat engine fuel consumption

Hi,

I'm in winter hibernation here and thinking about a smart way to measure fuel (gasoline) usage on a old outboard engine.

What i'm interested in seeing is basically how much fuel i'm actually consuming, like Liters per minute or hour. Maybe present a total fuel usage for this trip. And also i think it should be possible to read rpm from the engine.

Outboards like my old beast typically have a sweetspot where it's got decent speed and a lower fuel consumption.

Boat has 12V electrical system with car battery setup, should be possible to provide a stable power to an arduino with a 12v USB adaptor or similar.

I've seen and read some posts regarding flow meters connecting to arduinos, but i think i need advice in an early stage.

It's a carb engine with one-way fuel flow.

I'm a beginner with arduino but i think it would be the perfect platform..

My first thougts in this project in order to get started.. 1. Advice on arduino model suitable for this type of project.. UNO?

2. Suitable displays, LCD vs OLED.. other? I will cut a hole for the display in driver area.

3. Suitable fuel flow sensors. There are cheap ones on ebay from china like this 1/2'' Liquid Fuel Oil Flow Sensor Counter diesel gasoline Gear flow sensor

I have no problems with connections and the mechanical setup but i would like somewhat consistent accuracy whether or not i'm using more or less fuel at a certain RPM. Not sure if that stuff is good enough for this project.

4. Engine has a one wire rpm indicator prewired, i just have to make that within range to read output with the arduino, i guess a safe pulse voltage regulation will be needed. (I'm not sure of the voltage of the rpm pulse). Can i prepare anything before knowing the actual pulse voltage at the moment?

5. Is it possible to store consumption data in arduino over time and even if it gets disconnected from power?