Outbreak Tag

Outbreak Tag

So, I had an idea about making a set of wearable, Arduino-powered bracelets that would be used to play “outbreak” tag.

The idea is there are 3 types of bracelets:

• 1 Patient Zero Bracelet: This would be indicated by a red LED and it would only emit an “infected” signal
  • 1 Doctor Bracelet: This would be indicated by a green LED and it would only emit a “cured” signal
  • 6+ Citizen Braclets: These would be indicated by a blue LED, and emit a “healthy” signal to start, but they’re capable of changing. If they get too close to the Patient Zero bracelet (or an infected Citizen) they would switch to “infected” and would then turn red and start to emit that signal. Getting close to the Doctor will convert them to “Cured” status with a Green color and short period of immunity, before they transition back to a blue “Healthy” state (and susceptible to being infected again).

I’m a total newbie with Arduino, but I’ve had some fun with programmable LEDs. I’m not sure how to handle the sensors/signal detection - any advice on that? Also, what are people’s thoughts on the best way to keep sizes small? They’re intended to be worn by my kids. Thanks in advance for any advice!

ESP8266 are small and programmable as/with arduino. Signal strength cn be used for proximity - and basicly that's it. 3 LEDs + Resistor are easy to handle. Powersupply could be tricky, I'd use a buck converter (step up or step up/down) for 2xAAA or 1x9V blockbattery.

zwieblum:
Signal strength cn be used for proximity

There are many Forum Threads which suggest that that won't work

...R

Ah, I should have clarified - the intent would be for this to be played outdoors and out of reach of any consistent WiFi signal...so I was wondering what would be the best wireless communication alternative? I figured triggering a sensor within a ~2ft proximity would be a good distance