outlining a multi task project

again, I am a beginner. I have been through sparkfuns tutorial. have accomplished all the steps. my project involves a dozen or so sketches. I have been able to accomplish each task as an individual task.

compiling these sketches is a bit confusing. this is dependent on this, which depends on THIS, and IF this is THAT then THIS is different...

I am not looking for someone, to write my code. I AM, looking for direction as to where is the best place to learn how to incorporate many sketches into 1 in a manner that is logical, and most importantly, POWER SAVING! as this project will operate on a battery with no one to attend to it.

HOW DO YOU OUTLINE A PROJECT? is my MAIN question. I mean, there are a half dozen sketches in mine and there are a dozens ways to accomplish each task.

i know EXACTLY what i want to do. i have already done it with an analog circuit. but there are sooooooo many variables in this. what are some of the considerations that you put into your "story board" when you want to design something?

if you have time to elaborate, cool.. if you don't, no problem. i will learn regardless. and thank you to those who have offered their advice, each little bit has made me wiser.

Post a circuit diagram and a description of what your project does.

Take a look at the planning and implementing a program sticky at the top of this topic.

Link to Planning and Implementing a Program

Power saving is a different subject and depends very much on what you want to do and what things you have added to you Arduino.

...R

Nick Gammon's thread on power saving. power saving

thanks all, i will read all the suggested material. i came up with an "outline" so to speak. i can't write any code yet, but hopefully i can convey the concept of my project and one of you may say YES that is very possible.

1. power arduino

2. check LDR = if light = sleep = if dark = awake