Outputting Sine Waves

Hi there,

I'm new to Arduino, and I'm trying to generate 3 sine waves through separate pins on an Arduino Mega. I thought this would be as simple as using the sin() function, but I tried googling it and that doesn't seem to be the case. it appears as if I have to do a whole lot more, and I'm really not sure how to do it.

Can someone please guide me in the right direction?

*also to note, in the future, after implementing the simple sine waves being output, I am trying to create a program which outputs three sine waves that each have different phase, frequency, and amplitude all changing dynamically based on input voltages coming into the Arduino.

In general you'll need one (external) DAC for each signal, which translates the digital amplitude values into analogous voltage. Eventually you'll also need a low pass filter, to flatten the staircase steps on the DAC output. Then feed each DAC with the right amplitude sequence, so that the output will ressemble the desired waveform (in time and amplitude).

But perhaps you want something quite different. Details depend on what you want to connect to the sine wave outputs.

To what end?

mnot:
I thought this would be as simple as using the sin() function,

I would have agreed. I don't have any real experience of it, but I believe the sine drawing demo I have used does exactly that.

DrDiettrich:
In general you'll need one (external) DAC for each signal, which translates the digital amplitude values into analogous voltage. Eventually you'll also need a low pass filter, to flatten the staircase steps on the DAC output. Then feed each DAC with the right amplitude sequence, so that the output will ressemble the desired waveform (in time and amplitude).

That's kind of what I've been reading, but I have no idea how to implement it...

Nick_Pyner:
I believe the sine drawing demo I have used does exactly that.