Panic Switch Demo

I'm working on creating a panic button on my Arduino UNO board that will perform three functions. The functions are:

• Sound an alarm when pressed
  • light up the led when pressed, and
  • give off signals or data when pressed.

Why I want the panic button to give off signals is because after I create this panic button, I'm thinking of creating a web page using php that can retrieve signals from the panic button when it is triggered.

I'm using a push button to act as a panic button, a led to light when the button is pressed, and a buzzer to give off a warning sound when the button is pressed.

With the help from some tutorials, I managed to get the led light and alarm siren working. Although, I'm new to using Arduino, and I'm not too sure how I can code the push button to send signals when it is pressed. I added something but I'm not sure if its okay. Please can someone go through this coding and tell me if its okay.

Below is the Arduino coding I'm using:

//set pin numbers

int ledPin = 12;
int buzzerPin = 13;
int buttonPin = 4;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(buzzerPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);

}

void loop() {

if (digitalRead(buttonPin) == HIGH)
  {
    digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
    delay(500);
    tone(buzzerPin, 1000);
    delay(500);
    Serial.println("----------Girl's Dormitory Alarm Activated----------");
  }
  else {
    noTone(buzzerPin);
    digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
    Serial.println("Alarm Deacticated");
  }
}

You need to edit your post and use code tags ( </> ) as the forum has a bad habit of changing code unless its formatted correctly.

This will print a message on the Serial console, so that's a form of "getting a message out".

And indeed please use code tags. It also makes code much more readable. But before doing so, do a CTRL-T in the IDE to get the indentation fixed. Helps a lot, too.

Thank you for your replies. I just edited the post.