Parachute Deployment Project Recommendation

Assume i'm completely new to programming and electronics in general.

I'm building a model rocket from scratch, which means i need a parachute to deploy just after the rockets has reached apogee.

I was thinking about getting an Aduino UNO and a Adafruit Triple-Axis Accelerometer (MMA8451).

1. Do these parts sound adequate?

2. Do i have to have a breadboard?

3. Whats the best way to ignite black powder from an electrical signal? (My idea was send some current along a really thin wire and let it get hot enough to ignite the black powder, but that sounds too crude...)

UNO? Too big. You want the smallest board available.

Breadboard? Too big and unreliable. You need to solder all connections.

What parameter are you going to measure to give you the trigger for deploying the chute?

John.

Won’t the acceleration readings show negative values for the z-axis after its reached apogee? Then use that?

So check the z-axis acceleration every ~500ms, and when it turns negative, release the parachute…

Yes, I suppose so.

What about a GPS module that could record the trip?

John.

Use the smallest Arduino that can work with the MMA8451

a DigiSpark
an ESP8285 bare board
there are many others.
you can program with an UNO/NANO or specialty USB programmer.

There are firework fuses. thin wires with stuff like the head of a match.
power through the wire and the chemicals light.
Amazon, lots for cheap. like 20 for $2.

The acceleration in the z-direction (actually, any direction) will drop to a very small number the moment the motor runs out. That "very small number" is the air resistance your rocket has. In a perfect vacuum and the motor not smoking or otherwise expelling minor bits of matter it'd be exactly zero.
Within the atmosphere, at apogee it should drop to zero as your air speed is zero, but very likely this part of the signal is drowning in the noise (tumbling of the rocket, wind, etc).