Parallax RFID Read/Write Project Serial.print issues

Hello Everyone.

I’m new to this sort of thing, but I’ve taken on a fairly large RFID project (by my standards anyway). I won’t bore you with the details, save for the pertinent ones. :stuck_out_tongue:

What I’m trying to do is this:

• RFID read/write module is in an idle state.
  • A read command is received from Serial (in this case ‘r’)
  • The RFID card becomes active, searches for a tag for a yet undetermined length of time (using a ‘for loop’).
  • If that time passes, it idles and waits for the ‘r’ command again.
  • If it detects a tag, it attempts to read that tag’s static ID. If the read is successful, it breaks the ‘for loop’ and returns to an idle state to await the next ‘r’ command.
  • After a successful read, the four byte static ID is combined into a String, and then is written to Serial (via println)

What really happens:

• RFID card is in an idle state
  • The read command is received and the card begins searching for a tag. The tag is successfully read and printed to Serial.
    HOWEVER
  • the first attempt at reading the tag does not always appear to be successful. However, when the ‘r’ command is sent again, that tags ID is immediately written, whether or not the tag is actually present.
  • sometimes the wrong information is printed after the first tag read attempt, but again, as soon as ‘r’ is sent again, the correct ID is immediately written.
  • once that first tag has been read, it will continue to print that tags ID as soon as the ‘r’ command is sent.
  • it takes at least three attempts at sending the ‘r’ command with a different tag constantly in the vicinity of the reader before it will recognize the new tag. It seems that the ‘for loop’ is no longer working at this point. And again, the new tag’s ID will be immediately written with every new ‘r’ command.

At this point I’m not sure what I need to do next, so here I am. :slight_smile:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>