parallel regenerative braking project

I am doing a heavy vehicle project and putting a regenerative braking system into the vehicle. It also has a supercapacitor module in parallel with the battery (which has the same voltage), and the goal is to

1. Share the current during acceleration (s1 and s2 closed)
  2. Charge the supercapacitor (only) during braking (s1 open and s2 closed)

Because I am a student and have limited money, I don’t want to blow up anything. Will this circuit work as I want it to be? Also, does this circuit need a dc-dc converter?

Materials

Battery: 12 V 10 ah

Supercapacitor: 15 V (only using up to 12 V) 55 Farad

Switch: 30 V 10 A relay with diodes

Motor: 775 DC Motor

H bridge: DROK L298 Dual H Bridge

I would really appreciate some type of help and if interested, I can share more pictures of the project.

How to post an image

The voltage across a battery is roughly constant, depending on chemistry, from fully charged to discharged. The voltage across a capacitor is exactly proportional (by an equation I have long since forgotten, but someone will post it soon I expect) to the energy stored in it. The prectical effect of this is the voltage across the capacitor is highly unlikely to be the same as the voltage across the battery when S1 is closed. When S1 is closed there will be a short burst of very high current while the capacitor charges or discharges to equal the battery voltage, which will most likely damage or destroy S1.

I see a few problems with this.