Parse next part of comma delimited Char array

Hi, go easy on me I’m very very new to C and C++ programming - I’ve done a fair bit of VB and VBA over the years, self tought and very lazy with memory usage, programming efficiency, variable declarations etc, so I’m finding this lark a bit of a batism of fire!

Anyhow, I’m doing a project to read some NMEA data into the serial ports on a mega, and datalog some of the data to an SD card and possibly ‘do stuff’ with some of the data too.

I’ve got a fair bit of it working, this is the main loop that reads data from 2 serial ports and then when a complete sentence is received copies it to the char array buffer and calls the readline function.

void loop() 
{    

// read1:
  while(SerPort1.available()) {
      c1=SerPort1.read();

if (c1 == -1) continue;
      if (c1 == '\n') continue;
      if ((buff1idx == BUFFSIZ-1) || (c1 == '\r')) {
        buff1[buff1idx] = 0; 
        strcpy(buffer, buff1); 
        buffidx = buff1idx;  
        readline();
        buff1idx=0; continue;}
      buff1[buff1idx++]= c1;
    }

// read2:  
  while(SerPort2.available()) {
      c2=SerPort2.read();

if (c2 == -1) continue;
      if (c2 == '\n') continue;
      if ((buff2idx == BUFFSIZ-1) || (c2 == '\r')) {
        buff2[buff2idx] = 0; 
        strcpy(buffer, buff2); 
        buffidx = buff2idx; 
        readline();
        buff2idx=0; continue;}
      buff2[buff2idx++]= c2;    
    } 

unsigned long currentMillis = millis();

if(currentMillis - previousMillis > interval) {
        logdata();
        previousMillis = currentMillis; 
        }

}