Parsing Code Review

Hello,

I am new to Arduino, however i did take some c++ classes about 10 years back. So i have a general idea of how things should be. Just enough that I seem to over complicate almost everything :slight_smile: SOOO... i have written some code to retrieve serial input from my HC-05 BLE module. I decided to use start and end markers to make sure the "packets" are the only thing that gets interpreted. I have also implemented a system of delimiters (I use '|' between variable/value sets and ',' to separate the value from the variable) so that i can parse the data into a usable form. This is something i plan to incorporate into a door lock/unlock system but till i have the bugs worked out i am keeping it separate. Also i have only implemented parsing for the particular case of 'U' which will be the unlock command, followed by parsing the userID and password. This works as expected. I just cant help the feeling that there is probably a better way to implement this.

So what i want to know is, do you all think i am going about this the correct way? Or is there a better and/or easier way to handle this?

Any advice on any of the code is welcome as i am by no means a pro and always open to learning new things.

Without further ado:

const int numChars = 32;              // Buffer Size for data

const char startMarker = '<';         // Start marker for data transmissions
const char endMarker = '>';           // End marker for data transmissions
const char delimPipe = '|';
const char delimCom = ',';

char recievedChar[numChars];          // From serial chars recieved
char tempChars[numChars];             // Temp storage for strtok manipulation
char incomingChar[numChars] = {0};    // Incoming char for parsing

bool newData = false;                 // New Data needs parsed flag

struct ParseCommands {                // Place holder struct for user recieved commands

int recievedUserID;
  int recievedPassword;

} parseVal;

void setup() {