Parsing/Deciphering strings with a single Token for LCD Position.

Hi all, I'm fairly new to the programming scene, I've got a bit of understanding and can do some basic coding. But i got a project thats baffling me.

I'm basically trying to change the token on a data string to another. I understand that LCD screens (and libraries do a lot of the dirty work for us) can receive delimiters for various commands such as linefeed, CR etc. etc. I've realised that a lot of these Displays have "cursor position" commands as well but from looking at datasheets the token used varies from screen to screen.

I have a DTE which is continually transmitting a string which uses hex 0x10 (DLE) as a token followed by two ascii digits. (Followed by the data/text that needs to be parsed)

It appears as if the token is meant to tell the LCD which line to print on. I.e cursor position.

The problem is i dont have an LCD which recognize the 0x10 as the Cursor position command nor can i find one.

I have been trying to parse the data in an arduino using the examples in the learning section but i cant seem to get them to work due to the need for a start and end char.

Is there a way for me to change the DLE token and then forward the data to a new LCD ?

My main goal is to get an LCD to display four lines dedicated to each set of values in the string. I cannot change the program on the DTE sadly.

Is there a way for me to change the DLE token and then forward the data to a new LCD ?

Yes, there is.

How to do it, specifically, depends on the code you currently have, but didn't share (and, the data, of course).

Sorry i never posted the code i used as i purely couldn’t see it working for this instance, i tried implementing this example by changing the Ifs in the example code here: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ReadASCIIString

This is as far as i got that “worked”
#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <LCD.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
#define rxPin 7
#define txPin 1