parts parts

i am new to all this. pulling apart some stuff and scavanging parts to learn some stuff about the arduino, not sure what i could use them for tho. I pulled 2 bimos drivers out and was wondering if i could use them for led matrix or stepper motor driver. http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/view/55152/ALLEGRO/UCN5821.html

also have a dac http://www.alldatasheet.com/datasheet-pdf/pdf/91342/PHILIPS/DAC-08.html

don't know much about ic in general, it is what i need to learn the most. if anybody could point me in the right direction it would be great. thanks Ryan

The UCN5821 looks like a combination of the popular 595 (serial to parallel converter) and something like a ULN2803 (high current darlington driver.) Nice chip, probably pretty useful for either small to mid-sized steppers or LED arrays on the cathodes (note: sinks current only, which means it goes in between your load device and GND...)

The DAC probably isn't very useful. It'll use a lot of pins to essentially get you behavior similar to that provided by the PWM outputs already.

ive been looking around the web and it looks like i can use the ucn5821 to drive the little stepper motor i have. im just trying to figure out how to interface it with the arduino threw serial. whats the full part # for the 595 so i can look up some info about it. when you say it sink current, you mean i would provide voltage straight to a led anode and the chip would connect it to ground to complete the circuit? Seems an odd way to do it, i guess that would mean it could not take much in the way or current?