Passing an I2C object to a Class

Howdy,

I’m playing with Classes and making an I2C IC library.

I need to pass I2C object to an Object on its creation, I’m working with MCU that has multiple I2C peripherals so please skip part “but why you need to do that?” or “you know you can connect up to 128 devices in one I2C peripherals?” – don’t wast yours and my time.

I’m not new at coding, I’m new at classes, I imagine it should be coded something like this in class constructor:

ICconstructor( TwoWire *I2C_pheripheral);

I’m guessing in Wire library “default” wire object gets created only when Wire.begin() is called so I can’t pass it before that?

Thanks for your time and input.

3Dgeo:
I'm guessing in Wire library "default" wire object gets created only when Wire.begin() is called so I can't pass it before that?

No. See Wire.h and Wire.cpp (assuming Uno board since you didn't tell us).The default 'Wire' object is created automatically.

But yes, with multiple I2C interfaces available, the desired one could be passed (by pointer or reference) to your class's constructor.

The object is created at the point that itcis declared. If you put "int i;" somewhere in global scopevthen everything can refer to it and use it.

But maybe you don't give i a value until loop(). So it would be legal for setup() to use i even though it is useless because you did not give it a value.

The same applies to classes. The constructor is (often) in global scope but it is not ready for use until setup() calls the .begin() method.

So yes, you can pass an instance of TwoWire to a constructor but don't attempt to communicate with the i2c device in the constructor. Provide a .begin() and that can begin the TwoWire.

Currently I’m testing with Leonardo, later with STM32.

I also found that calling this: Wire.write(*Data, DataAmount); in the class gives me an error (but it woks fine outside the class): error: no matching function for call to 'write(byte&, byte&)

So I should code like this: