Pattern for doing 2 things at once.

I'm brand new to Arduino, but have a .Net development background.

What is the pattern that would be used if you want to pulse a LED (On for 1 sec, off for 1 sec), but at the same time, sound a buzzer every 300ms (On for 33ms, off for 300ms).

Because of the delay(1000) on the LED, the loop can't really handle the buzzer on/off. This is a threading issue, which I believe we have no threading.

So is there a pattern to handle this sort of situation?

It sounds like using delay in the loop is too blocking. Maybe some other timer? Spinning off a buzzer class that gets called to see if a change in the buzzer status should happen, and then loop has no delay... just Buzzer.Update() and MyLed.Update() and those methods somehow check a timer?

Take a look at Using millis() for timing. A beginners guide, Several things at the same time and look at the BlinkWithoutDelay example in the IDE.

I have found this youtube video useful for understanding blink without delay for two independent blinks.

UKHeliBob:
Take a look at Using millis() for timing. A beginners guide, Several things at the same time and look at the BlinkWithoutDelay example in the IDE.

Thanks! That is a fantastic post! Reading now... and it makes sense... Thanks.

Cralis:
Thanks! That is a fantastic post! Reading now... and it makes sense... Thanks.

So basically, here you are the OS, you yourself will handle the threads slicing.

I wonder if anyone has ever counted what % of forum questions relate to this? Probably about 90%. And another 90% is about servo power, and let's not forget the 90% about switch edge detection.

neiklot:
I wonder if anyone has ever counted what % of forum questions relate to this? Probably about 90%. And another 90% is about servo power, and let’s not forget the 90% about switch edge detection.

I don’t believe any of those figures.