PC Footpedal Controller with momentary 555 timer circuit

The plan is to use an arduino nano to make a foot board controller and macro certain controls to the pc.
Before I dive into the programming of the micro controller I want to get the general hardware down and make sure I'm approaching this the right way. From what research I have done it seems simple and straight forward with the momentary switches, just have to decide on which ones I want. The tricky one will be wiring one of the momentary switches with a 555 circuit to pulse around 50ms while pressed. Found a few online tools which led me to believe I need to wire in a 500 ohm resistor and 200 micro farad capacitor. This should give me 50ms (and some change) pulses on this one control. The trigger on the 555 timer will need to be grounded in order to activate but I have only been able to find a diagram with a touch plate as a trigger. Any advice or help will be appreciated being that this is my first project.

You start out talking about a nano, a prfectly reasonable thing to be asking about here. But at some point you abruptly change to talking about this 555 timer that is doing something that the nano could do itself and you completely lost me.

What exactly does this thing need to be able to do? Describe what it has to do, not how you think you would go about doing it. Then if you want to discuss your idea about how that's fine. But you have to start off with a description like:

"I want to be able to push a button and have a light start blinking at 50hz rate." or something.

I posted in project guidance due to the 555 timer w/momentary switch being the object of discussion.