pc LAN card as ethernet shield??

To me the ethernet shield+module appear to be a bit expensive when compared to a simple lan card for desktop pcs... Is it somehow possible to use them instead?? Would it be tough? Sorry if this might be a stupid question... I'm an absolute newbie, but willing to learn!

To me the ethernet shield+module appear to be a bit expensive when compared to a simple lan card for desktop pcs...

PC NICs have a few advantages, among them the fact that they're made by the millions, so they've got an incredible economy of scale.

Is it somehow possible to use them instead?? Would it be tough?

I seriously doubt it's possible, and it would certainly be a challenge if it were.

-j

Also, the PC cards do not have the TCP/IP stack on the card.

If you want an Ethernet card for the Arduino, you can get something like this: http://www.nuelectronics.com/estore/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=4

But the TCP/IP software has to reside in the Arduino memory so although its cheaper than the Arduino Ethernet shields that have the stack in firmware, its more limited in functionality. But for budget networking it works quite well

Not to mention you would need an ISA, PCI, or PCI-Express to SPI converter and that wouldn't work very well

The arduino wouldn't be able to keep up or even buffer the data

On AVR32 systems you can actually have a couple of 10/100 chips on the board because the CPU is much more powerful and you actually have enough RAM for buffer space and such

http://linuxdevices.com/news/NS2837651365.html

:)

I realized yesterday evening how stupid my question was... Someone gave me a broken laptop so I could open it up and look for useful stuff... Well I realized how not even usb ports can be re-used as they are soldered on the mother-board... Though I did get a small LCD, speakers, fan, etc...

Has anyone tried the products from nuelectronics? Any quality or compatibility issues?