PC to Arduino to third device

Hello there

I'm totally new in the Arduino 101 universe. Actually I haven't even bought one yet because I don't know if it is the right choice for me.

My problem is that, I want to communicate to the Arduino 101 via bluetooth from my computer. My computer does support BLE as far as I know. The Arduino 101, depending on the message from the computer, should be able to transmit data to a third device via seriel communication. When all this is done the third device should respond the arduino and at last the Arduino 101 should transmit the respond back to the computer via bluetooth.

Do anyone know if this is possible?

Greetings Nelly

you could use a HC-06 module for PC to Arduino bluetooth communication

and a another serial port to communicate to your third device (you may need to have an RS232 adapter)

I would suggest using an Arduino Mega as It has sufficent serial ports to meet your requirement

First of all thank you for your reply!

Why is a HC-06 module necassary, isn't an Arduino 101 capable of making a bluetooth connection between PC and Arduino 101?

And by using pin 0 (RX) and 1(TX) in the Arduino 101 board for seriel communication, it should be possible to communicate with a third device, should it not?

Or am I wrong? - As a wrote in my first post this is a new field for me. I just think this would be logical.

Nelly:
Why is a HC-06 module necassary, isn't an Arduino 101 capable of making a bluetooth connection between PC and Arduino 101?

Forum regulars are not all that familiar with the 101 - it has a special section of the Forum for itself.

I don't own a 101 and from a quick look at the specs it does seem to have on-board BLE and a spare Hardware Serial port (Serial1) on pins 0 and 1, However I can't immediately see if the BLE also uses pins 0 and 1.

The suggestion to use a HCO5 (which is NOT BLE, by the way) was in conjunction with an Arduino Mega.

...R