PCB vector design in Illustrator/Rhinoceros

Hey all,
I'm doing a thesis in industrial design and am interested in using the PCB as a mode of expression in bare bone electronic products. Because of this, I would like to be able to do the full PCB design in Illustrator or Rhinoceros 5 (single sided PCB with quite simple circuits), in order to be able to work with the copper, soldermasks and silkscreens as means for expression and storytelling. In theory this isn't much of a problem I guess, as the process is after all just a heap of layered silkscreen prints and some etching, but as it turns out it's a real pain as most manufacturers want the production files in gerber format. To make it even more difficult, I would like to be able to handle "holes" in shapes somehow, and gerber doesn't seem to be the best at doing this...

I am aware of PCBModE, but I can't get it to work on my windows system.

Do you know of an Illustrator script to do this?

Do anyone know of a good dxf/svg/or some other vector format converter to create gerber files for PCB manufacturing?

Do anyone know of a manufacturing house that accepts other file formats such as PDF, bmp, png or the like. Even

Any other tips or tricks are more than welcome!

I would say.. your going down the wrong path.

If you want to really make a PCB.. then use 'real' PCB/schematic design software.

I suggest EAGLE.. has a bit of a learning curve... but if you google, there is so much support and add-ons..etc than you'll always find an answer.

Its free up to a certain size board.

Others to try are:

Altium
KiCAD

(maybe others as well)

I am not clear by what you mean when you say:

"Holes as shapes"?

What does this mean?

When you are done.. you can take all the Gerber files (many files representing different layers/features of the PCB) import them into AI.. and do a trace on them if you need that.